About
A french inspired project by architect Ramos de Azevedo, this structure was constructed during the late 19th-century. The building was designed to be the new headquarters for the Jambeiro Farm, where the staple crops were coffee and sugarcane. The main rooms of the office were painted tromp l'oeil and filled with French and Belgian hydraulic tiles.
Unfortunately, the owner had to sell the farm in 1907 due to inheritance problems. The farm would take on several different owners over the years, until the area was eventually transformed into a subdivision. The building, however, now sits completely abandoned. The city decided to place protections around the former Jambeiro Farm headquarters to prevent it from being demolished, although, it is now overrun by shrubbery, sprouting plant life, and graffiti.
Related Tags
Know Before You Go
The office is open to public 24/7. However, its best to visit during daytime hours.
NEW - Wild Brazil: Rivers, Dunes & the Amazon
Explore Amazon villages, fish for piranha, and cool off in lagoon-covered sand dunes.
Book NowCommunity Contributors
Added By
Published
August 20, 2019