The area in and around St Paul’s Chapel is dotted with several small public parks. Many of these idyllic locations are the result of either the Great Fire of 1666 or the Blitz of World War II. The Churchyard of St. John Zachary owes its present incarnation to the former catastrophe.
These serene open gardens offer both office workers and touring visitors a quiet respite from the hustle and bustle created by one of Europe’s largest cities. Besides providing a place for calm seclusion, they are also decorated with fixtures and features that make them unique from one another.
The miniature park off Gresham Street not only contains a few remains of gravestones from the former house of worship, but it is also home to a distinctive work of art entitled “The Three Printers.” This stonework commissioned by the Westminster Press Group was created by Wilfred Dudeney. It depicts a trio of figures that represent the newspaper trade that was prevalent along Fleet Street.
What makes this green space so unique are the several gold emblems depicting the head of a feline. These metallic leopards are the trademark of The Worshipful Company of Goldsmiths. Not only are they the landowners of this public garden, but they are also one of the Twelve Great Livery Companies of the City of London.
This medieval guild established in 1327 was responsible for the inspection and branding of all precious metals within the realm of the ruling monarchs. In fact, the word “hallmark” is derived from the action of “marking” all the coins from the premises of the Guild Hall. The company’s headquarters are located adjacent to the park.
Know Before You Go
On Gresham Street, easily spotted by the ornate gilded archway entrance. Also look out for the ornate crest of the Wax Chandlers' Hall opposite.
Publicly accessible and open at all times.