The Gräinskapell, or St Quirinus Chapel, stands at the bottom of the valley.
The Gothic-style pilgrimage chapel was built in 1355. The roof and the spire with a bell were then added at the end of the 19th Century. The chapel however has much earlier origins. A shrine once stood here, which the Romans then converted into an early Christian place of worship.
It’s likely the shrine developed because of a spring that was claimed to cure eye conditions.
Since the 11th century, the chapel has been consecrated to Saint Quirin of Neuss who was, from 1544 to 1666, the patron saint of Luxembourg Ville. Saint Quirin of Neuss was a martyr and saint in both the Catholic and Orthodox churches.
Services have been held in the chapel since the 13 century. Inside the chapel, visitors can see how it was hewn from the rock on one side, and the roof and wall added to create the sheltered structure now standing.