The Swan View Tunnel is a former railway tunnel situated within the picturesque John Forrest National Park in the Eastern Perth suburb of Swan View.
Work began on the tunnel in 1894, and it was opened for use in February 1896. At a length of 340 meters, the tunnel was considered a significant feat of engineering at the time, and historic records note that the roof was sealed with over 330,000 stone bricks.
The small diameter of the tunnel led to many accidents due to asphyxiation and carbon monoxide poisoning. In February 1966, a diverted route was opened through the Avon Valley which led to the closing of the Swan View Tunnel.
After a period of closure, the tunnel was reopened in 1990 for visitors on foot and it is now part of the John Forrest Heritage Trail.