The world’s tallest three-sided obelisk, set in the stunning Blackdown Hills region, is a sight of outstanding beauty.
The obelisk was erected to honor the Duke of Wellington and his victory at the Battle of Waterloo. However, the man himself would never see the completed monument.
The sight had original plans to include 24 cannons captured from the French army during the battle. In 1818, 16 cannons were brought to Exeter for the monument. However, the cannons never made it, 10 were sunk into Exeter Quay as bollards, one was sold to pay for the storage of the original 16, and the remaining four were found to be navel cannons from Scotland never used in the battle. Only one cannon can be seen at the monument, but hails from an unknown location.
Following the £3.1 million restoration project completed in 2021, visitors are now able to climb to the top once more.
Know Before You Go
Bring a coat. There is a car park located a mile from the monument.