In 1883, the nine-person Hammond family arrived in the small beachside community of Encinitas, California and officially increased the town’s population to 22 people. With the now-robust populous, there was an immediate need for a permanent schoolhouse, and the Hammonds, along with a $600 grant from the city, made that need a reality.
The school had one room, one teacher, and catered to all eight of the Encinitas kids ranging from kindergarten through eighth grade. The schoolhouse was active from 1883 to 1928, the year the building was relocated to Fourth and H Street and became a family residence.
The original schoolhouse remained residentially occupied until it was threatened with demolition in the 1980s. Private interest, along with the newly formed Encinitas Historical Society, saved the building and returned it to its original location.
Today, the schoolhouse, with its original hardwood floors and hand-forged nails, has been restored to its former glory. Visitors are welcome to explore it and see what life was like in the early days of Encinitas.
Know Before You Go
The building is open Fridays and Saturdays. There's accessible parking along the side streets.