Dome Cinema – Worthing, England - Atlas Obscura
✨ Online experience gift cards are here! Buy Now »

Dome Cinema

Worthing, England

It was once the longest continuously running cinema in the United Kingdom. 

32
46

The Dome building opened in 1911. It originally functioned as a health and entertainment center. Its original name was Kursaal, German for “cure hall.” The building acquired its current name, a reference to the domed structure on its top, in 1915.

In 1918, the building was fully converted to a cinema. After falling into disrepair, the institution was closed in April 1999, having been the longest continuously running cinema in the United Kingdom.

Following the closure, a trust was set up to restore the cinema. The location reopened in December 1999, and obtained funding to carry out the necessary works. However, it was again closed for a major refurbishment in 2005, later reopening to the public in 2007.

The cinema is currently run by a small cinema group and is home to three screens and a bar. Much of the original decor is still in place and can be viewed upon entering the building.

Know Before You Go

Access is free to the lobby and bar areas. A cinema ticket is required to access the rest of the building and screens.

Community Contributors
JamesB93
Added By

Make an Edit Add Photos