The Iron Hill area of northwestern Delaware was a community of African American farming and mining families. Iron Hill School No. 112C is a one-room schoolhouse built in 1923. The funding to build the school was provided by Pierre S. du Pont as part of a reform and rebuilding of African American schools in Delaware.
Open from 1923-1964, the school was in session from September through June and provided instruction for grades 1-6. All instruction was conducted by a single teacher. Upon the abolishment of education segregation in the area in 1965, the school was closed.
Today, the building is owned by the Delaware Academy of Science, housing a natural and local history museum. As a result of the restoration efforts undertaken by the academy, the building stands as one of only a few former du Ponts chools still architecturally intact.
In 1995, the building was added to the National Register of Historic Places.